Trek Opportunities in Our Country

Trekking opportunities in India:

We have many treks in our country. We can classify treks on the basis of altitude and areas. We have the following mountain ranges in our country.

India Map

Aravallis - The Aravalli Range is a range of mountains running approximately 692 km in a northwest direction, starting in North India from Delhi and passing through southern Haryana, through to Western India across the states of Rajasthan and ending in Gujarat

Western Ghats – Western Ghats (also known as Sahyadri, meaning The Benevolent Mountains) is a mountain range that runs parallel to the western coast of the Indian peninsula, located entirely in India. The range starts near the border of Gujrat and Maharashtra, south of the Tapti river, and runs approximately 1,600 km (990 miles) through the states of Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala and Tamil Nadu ending at Swamithoppe, near Kanyakumari, at the southern tip of India.

Eastern Ghats – The Eastern Ghats run from the northern Odisha through Andhra Pradesh to Tamil Nadu in the south passing some parts of Karnataka. They are eroded and cut through by the four major rivers of peninsular India, known as the Godavari, Mahanadi, Krishna, and Kaveri.

Satpura and Vindhya range - The Satpura Range is a range of hills in central India. The range rises in eastern Gujarat state running east through the border of Maharashtra and Madhya Pradesh to the east till Chhattisgarh. 

Purvanchal range or the Eastern mountain ranges - The range is an eastern extension of the Himalayan Range System, in northeastern India. The Purvanchal range includes the hill ranges of the Patkai, Barail range, Manipur, Mizo, and Naga Hills.

Karakoram and Pir Pinjal ranges - The Karakoram, or Karakorum is a large mountain range spanning the borders of Pakistan, India, and China, with the northwest extremity of the range extending to Afghanistan and Tajikistan. A part of the complex of ranges from the Hindu Kush to the Himalayan Range. It is one of the Greater Ranges of Asia. The Karakoram is home to the four most closely located peaks over 8000m in height on earth. K2, the second highest peak in the world at 8,611 m (28,251 ft), Gasherbrum I, Broad Peak and Gasherbrum II. The Pir Panjal Range is a group of mountains in the Inner Himalayan region, running from east-southeast (ESE) to west-northwest (WNW) across the Indian states of Himachal Pradesh and Jammu & Kashmir. Pir Panjal is the largest range of the lower Himalayas. Deo Tibba (6,001 m (19,688 ft)) and Indrasan (6,221 m (20,410 ft)) are two important peaks at the eastern end of the mountain range. They can be approached from both the Parvati-Beas Valley (Kulu District) and the Chandra (Upper Chenab) Valley (Lahaul and Spiti District) in Himachal Pradesh. The hill station of Gulmarg in Kashmir lies in this range. Rohtang pass in Manali also falls under the Pir pinjal range (eastern side).

Himalayan ranges - The Himalayan range has many high peaks, including the highest, Mount Everest. The Himalayas include over fifty mountains exceeding 7,200 metres (23,600 ft) in elevation, including ten of the fourteen 8000m peaks. By contrast, the highest peak outside Asia – Aconcagua, in the Andes – is 6,961 metres (22,838 ft) tall. The Himalayas are spread across five countries: India, Nepal, Bhutan, China and Pakistan, with the first three countries having sovereignty over most of the range. The Indian Himalayan range - The Indian Himalayan Region is the section of the Himalayas within India, spanning the states of Jammu & KashmirHimachal PradeshUttarakhand, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh, as well as the hill regions of two states - Assam and West Bengal.

Trek-able summits, peaks and passes we generally trek in;

Pir Panjal Range (part of middle Himalayas) – Parvati Valley – Kheerganga trek, J&K – Great Lakes Kashmir, Tarsar Marsar
DhaulaDhar Range (middle Himalayas) – Prashar lake
Zanskar Range – Chadar trek,
Ladakh Range – Stok range – Stok Kangri
East Korakoram Range
Garhwal range – Nag tibba, Kuari pass, Deoriataal Chandrashila, Dayara bugyaal, Kedarkantha, Har ki dhun, Roopkund summit, Rupin pass, Pangarchulla summit
Kumaon range – Pindari glacier, Panchachulli base camp, Sunderdhunga tre, Kafini glacier